Bangalore University

Bangalore University is one of the oldest and largest Universities in India established in the year 1882 in Central College campus, Bengaluru in the state of Karnataka. The Central College and Jnana Bharathi Campus are the two main premises where various administrative and educational activities are being carried out. Central College, University Visweshwaraiah College of Engineering, University Law College and University College of Physical Education are under the jurisdiction of Bangalore University. The university is structured into six faculties- Arts, Science, Commerce & Management, Education, Law and Engineering. It has 43 Post Graduate Departments, a Postgraduate Centre at Kolar, three constituent colleges, 665 affiliated colleges and several other Centres and Directorates of higher learning and research under its purview. At present, the University offers 50 Post Graduate Courses and Employment Oriented Diploma and Certificate Courses. NSS Bhavan was constructed for the first time in the country by Bangalore University. Biopark was a novel idea initiated on over 600 acres of land in the JB Campus with rain water harvesting, ground water recharging, aqua culture and ornithology. Added with University Science Instrumentation Centre, Robotics & cyber centre, Dr. Ambedkar study and Research centre, Yoga centre and Gandhian studies centre. Recently, University has been accredited by NAAC with A’ Grade in 2016.

image description